Jaymay To Release ‘To Tell the Truth’ On Aug 26 + Shares “I Was Only Lovin’ You”

Jaymay delivers her second full-length record, To Tell The Truth on August 26, 2016.

The 13 songs on To Tell the Truth elegantly tell the tale of her journey over the past five years. Bookending the trials and tribulations of both her personal struggle and the tragic passing of her developmentally disabled sister Cassie, at age 26, the music paints a poignant portrait of life, loss and love colored by acoustic guitar, piano, literary lyricism, and her vulnerable and vital vocals.

Partnering with PledgeMusic for the release of To Tell The Truth, a percentage of album proceeds benefit The Center For Discovery in Monticello, NY, where Cassie attended school. Jaymay literally welcomed fans to be a part of the process and the PledgeMusic campaign is still open HERE

The initial offering from To Tell The Truth is the introspective acoustic anthem “I Was Only Lovin’ You”, now available via all streaming and download services.

I Was Only Lovin’ You” at Spotify | Soundcloud | Bandcamp | iTunes | Amazon

In 2013, Jaymay abruptly ended up in the hospital with Crohn’s Disease and took a year off. “There was nothing I could do,” she says. “I didn’t want to be in pain anymore. I made the decision to go through it. With the reconciliation of things that are out of my control, music came from this experience.”

During the time in which physical frailty made just holding a guitar a struggle, Jaymay also shifted her mode of expression to the visual arts, honing her skills in painting and collage. This artwork became inextricably tied to her music, and originals and limited edition prints are available as companion pieces to the album. 2016 proved the right time for this body of work to be both heard AND seen.

“I have an obsession with truth telling,” says Jaymay. “I would say the muse for writing in the first place is to learn about myself. That’s how it’s always been. In order to craft the record, I took the best songs I’d written over the past five years and built To Tell The Truth. The album is the realization of an original goal. Telling the truth is the epitome of what I was feeling. I’m finally ready to reintroduce myself to the public.”

It’s an apropos reintroduction to say the least. The album opens with the wistful wishing of “Baby Maybe One Day”, which sets a cinematic tone for the narrative to follow. “I Was Only Lovin’ You” builds from acoustic strumming into a rousing declaration, of which she says, “It flips things around. It’s more about the singer finding something in herself than it is about necessarily loving the guy.”

Her lifelong passion for literature remains a driving force. “Never Weep” sees Jaymay complement lines from poet Robinson Jeffer’s For Una with vivid wordplay of her own. It even received full support from the artist’s estate. Elsewhere, “Cassie’s Song” etches out a heartfelt elegy to her sister with an upbeat groove and lithe and lush refrain.In the end, To Tell The Truth stands out as Jaymay’s boldest, bravest, and brightest work yet. Yet, she picks up right where she left off still telling the truth. “I never did disappear,” she leaves off. “The story I’m telling encompasses everything. I want to impart myself and my life onto this work. It’s the story. It’s genuine. I hope everyone knows me better now.”

To Tell the Truth Track Listing:
1 – Baby Maybe One Day
2 – I Was Only Lovin’ You
3 – To Tell The Truth
4 – Never Weep
5 – Just Got Over You
6 – Enlighten Me
7 – I Stand Up For Me
8 – Today & Tmoro
9 – Cassie’s Song
10 – For Goodness Sake
11 – Singin’ of the Birds
12 – There Are Red Roses
13 – We Say Goodbye


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *