Nouvelle Vague’s Bossa Nova Cover Of Altered Images’ 80s Classic “I Could Be Happy” Premieres+ New Album Out Nov. 4

“Nouvelle Vague has traded pogoing for a suave Parisian sway, some light cabaret swing
and hints of the Caribbean.” —The New York Times

“The French band Nouvelle Vague takes classic New Wave singles from the ‘80s and adds a Brazilian twist — courtesy of the other new wave: bossa nova.”—NPR “World Café”

“Covering new wave and punk songs in a French-tinged, bossa nova-infused style, Nouvelle Vague takes classic songs to new places.”—NPR’s “All Songs Considered”

“Smoky-piped chanteuses + a ’60s bossa nova beat + ’80s newwave chestnuts =
one chouette cover band.”—Entertainment Weekly

Nouvelle Vague’s bossa nova cover of the Altered Images new wave classic “I Could Be Happy” is premiering at Brooklyn Vegan.

The song is the title track from Nouvelle Vague’s first full length LP of new music since 2010, due November 4 on Kwaidan Records / !K7. See below for a complete track list for I Could Be Happy.

In anticipation of the album, Nouvelle Vague recently released the Athol Brose EP, also available via Kwaidan Records / !K7. Stream/share the EP, along with the video for the title track—a bossa nova cover of the Cocteau Twins’ 1988 classic featuring Liset Alea, via FLOOD Magazine at

 After a several year hiatus, Nouvelle Vague’s founders—French producers Marc Collin and Olivier Libaux—return with their signature bossa nova reinterpretations of ‘80s and ‘90s punk, post-punk and new wave hits. I Could Be Happy also includes the pair’s first-ever original compositions featuring a variety of vocalists. The band is set to tour Europe through the end of 2016 in support of the new album, with North American dates coming in March, 2017.

Collin and Libaux started the unique project in 2004. The band employed a legion of female singers, many unknown until their performances with the band. Over the course of four records, the band sold more than one million albums worldwide including their self-titled 2004 album and 2006’s Bande A Part—which were released in the U.S. The band toured internationally including sold out shows at Royal Albert Hall in London, The Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles and Olympia in Paris.


1. Athol Brose featuring Liset Alea (Cocteau Twins cover)
2. Love Comes in Spurts (Richard Hell & the Voidoids cover)
3. I Wanna Be Sedated (Ramones cover)
4. I Could Be Happy (Altered Images cover)
5. All Cats Are Grey (The Cure cover)
6. No One Is Receiving (Brian Eno cover)
7. Maladroit (composed by Olivier Libaux)
8. Algo Familiar (composed by Marc Collin)
9. Loneliness (composed by Marc Collin)

10. La Pluie et Le Beau Temps (composed by Olivier Libaux)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *