‘Purple Rain’ Reissue Due On June 23 With 6 Unreleased Tracks & DVD Of 1985 Concert

A court injunction may have kept six unreleased Prince songs out of fans’ hands last week, but six others are on the way.​

NPG Records and Warner Bros. have announced the official plans for Purple Rain Deluxe and Purple Rain Deluxe – Expanded Edition. Due out June 23, the special collection will feature never before released tracks, including extended or newly mastered versions of “Possessed,” “Electric Intercourse,” “Father’s Song,” “We Can F—,” and “Katrina’s Paper Dolls.”

Available for pre-order beginning Friday, the two-CD Purple Rain Deluxe consists of a remaster of the original album overseen by Prince in 2015 and From The Vault & Unreleased, which includes 11 songs discovered in the late singer’s vault.

An expanded edition will include a third disc of B-sides and a DVD of a 1985 performance by Prince and the Revolution in Syracuse, N.Y. Both releases are available for pre-order on Friday..

The labels noted that the singer personally supervised the Purple Rain remastering process a year before he died at 57 from a prescription drug overdose on April 21, 2016.

Disc One: Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)

  1. “Let’s Go Crazy”
  2. “Take Me With U”
  3. “The Beautiful Ones”
  4. “Computer Blue”
  5. “Darling Nikki”
  6. “When Doves Cry”
  7. “I Would Die 4 U”
  8. “Baby I’m A Star”
  9. “Purple Rain”

Disc Two: From The Vault & Previously Unreleased

  1. “The Dance Electric”
  2. “Love And Sex”
  3. “Computer Blue” (‘Hallway Speech’ version)”
  4. “Electric Intercourse (studio)”
  5. “Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden”
  6. “Possessed (1983 version)”
  7. “Wonderful Ass”
  8. “Velvet Kitty Cat”
  9. “Katrina’s Paper Dolls”
  10. “We Can F—”
  11. “Father’s Song”

Disc Three: Single Edits & B-Sides

  1. “When Doves Cry (edit)”
  2. “17 Days”
  3. “Let’s Go Crazy (edit)”
  4. “Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)”
  5. “Erotic City”
  6.  “Erotic City (‘Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive’)”
  7.  “Purple Rain (edit)”
  8.  “God”
  9.  “God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)”
  10. “Another Lonely Christmas”
  11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
  12. “I Would Die 4 U (edit)”
  13. “I Would Die 4 U (extended version)”
  14. “Baby I’m A Star (edit)”
  15. “Take Me With U (edit)”

DVD: Prince And The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985

  1. “Let’s Go Crazy”
  2. “Delirious”
  3. “1999”
  4. “Little Red Corvette”
  5. “Take Me With U”
  6. “Do Me, Baby”
  7. “Irresistible Bitch”
  8. “Possessed”
  9. “How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?”
  10. “Let’s Pretend We’re Married”
  11. “International Lover”
  12. “God”
  13. “Computer Blue”
  14. “Darling Nikki”
  15. “The Beautiful Ones”
  16. “When Doves Cry”
  17. “I Would Die 4 U”
  18. “Baby I’m A Star”
  19. “Purple Rain”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *